The Bible and Science

For those who aren’t Catholic and belong to churches that take the entire Bible literally, I’d like to know how you reconcile the Bible with science?

I have some friends of different faiths-- One is Lutheran, the rest belong to non- denominational churches. We don’t talk about religion because I’m not good at apologetics and I don’t want the get into an argument.

But, say for instance, Noah and the Flood. There was never a bottleneck of eight people, yet the Bible says only eight were saved during the Flood. There are other examples, but for now, I’ll stick with this one.

How do you reconcile your beliefs with science?

Biblical literalism is a tough position to defend. As far as I know true and strict Biblical literalism did not exist until the 1800’s or so.

It is my understanding that Catholics are also required to believe that only eight people survived the Biblical Flood. I think the Catholic Encyclopedia gives pretty good evidence that the Church requires us to believe this: The question, whether all men perished in the Deluge, must be decided by the teaching of the Bible, and of its authoritative interpreter. As to the teachings of the Bible, the passage which deals ex professo with the Flood…if taken by itself, may be interpreted of a partial destruction of man…but no one can deny that the prima facie meaning of I Peter, iii, 20 sq., II Peter, ii, 4-9, and II Peter, iii, 5 sqq., refers to the death of all men not contained in the ark.