The Eucharist and Levitical Law

Hi guys

I’m a former Catholic who is considering returning to the Catholic faith. I have been attending a Reformed church for almost four years and have read a lot against the Catholic faith.

I have listened to quite a number of podcasts by Matt Slick, who runs CARM (Christian Apologetics Research Ministry). He has a whole section attacking Roman Catholicism.

One of the things he says is the following:

[quote=“Matt Slick”]The RC Eucharist cannot literally be Christ’s blood because when Jesus instituted the supper, Levitical Law was still in effect since the death of Christ had not yet occurred and the New Covenant was not then instituted (Heb. 9:15-16). So, since the disciples were under O.T. Law when Jesus instituted the Supper, then how was Jesus NOT urging the disciples to violate the command in Lev. 17:14 which says that they were NOT drink the blood of any flesh? (Furthermore, the Jerusalem council also forbid drinking blood in Acts 15:19-20).
[/quote]

How would Catholics answer this? Thanks for any help you can give me.

The Catholic Answers magazine article "Are Catholics Cannibals?" might help.

Jesus said:
Do you not see that whatever goes into a man from outside cannot defile him, since it enters, not his heart but his stomach, and so passes on?” (Thus he declared all foods clean.) (Mark 7:18b-19)
Similarly, St Paul said: