The EXACT teaching on original sin and the Immaculate Conception of Our Lady

I’m not sure if a casual thread on this forum is the best way to get an exact explanation of the Immaculate Conception and original sin, but I figured it couldn’t hurt. I would welcome any advice or good sources to be pointed to as well.

I posted this in the Eastern Catholicism section because I know there is some tension between the Eastern (Orthodox) theological emphasis on this issue and a Western understanding. I am new to Catholicism (and traditional Christianity in general) so I have a very fresh understanding of these things. Upon further study, I began to become aware of some of the mental jumping-jacks and philosophical problems that the concepts of original sin and the Immaculate Conception present (particularly to an Eastern mindset). I am hoping to get some of these resolved.

The primary discussion hinges on the Immaculate Conception, but I included original sin in the title because many of the problems and disagreements come from different (or perhaps misunderstood) understandings of what this (original sin/ancestral sin) is.

Unfortunately, it is not smart to simply jump immediately into discussing the Immaculate Conception. To address the problems and tensions that arise between Eastern and Western Christians on this issue, we must first bring some facts to the table. Keep in mind, I am trying to piece together and organize stuff that I’ve heard all over into this thread. I am bringing a lot of hearsay assumptions to the table. Corrections to any of my generalities are, of course, welcome.

What the East (generally) believes about Mary in this context: