The fallible decision to follow the Church

A Catholic argument against sola scriptura is that if the Bible is the sole infallible rule of faith, then that means that the Protestant has no infallible reason to believe the Bible, which means that the Bible isn’t an infallible rule of faith after all. A rebuttal that I heard from James White, is that since the Catholic has made a fallible decision to follow the Church, that means that the Church and, by proxy, the Bible aren’t infallible rules of faith after all, and thus the Catholic has the same problem, and you can’t make an argument against your opponent that refutes your own position. I heard this and thought, “Wait, that doesn’t make any sense.”; it seems to me that it’s some kind of fallacy, but I haven’t been able to pinpoint it. What is the Catholic response to this?

I hope you have mis-stated Mr White’s argument, because as reported above it makes no sense. (I have no direct experience of Mr White myself, but from his reputation I would expect him to be better than this)

In no particular order:
[LIST=“i”]
*]As a Catholic, I do not believe scripture to be infallible, so the whole upshot is kind of moot. I am not sure any protestants believe so either? In any case, I do believe scripture to be inerrant, which is a different quality.
And at the risk of tackling too much at once: I do not believe scripture to be inerrant because it testifies so to itself, because it does not do so – I believe it is inerrant because the Church tells me so.
*]As a Catholic, I am not sure I would describe the Church as *infallible *either, so I do not mind if Mr White asserts that it is not. I *do *believe the Church to be *unfailing * (which I am not sure is the same thing?), because Christ promised it would be so.
*]*Even if *I may make a “fallible” decision to follow the Church, how does *that imply the Church to be fallible??? How does *my fallibility cause the Church to be fallible? :confused: