The Great Schism

Does anyone else feel a slight tingling that shortly, perhaps within a decade… or at most within your lifetime, that the Roman Catholic Church and the Eastern Orthodox Churches will re-embrace and the Schism healed?

I pray it will be so!

I am not an expert however it seems to me that the Orthodox hold us with a bit of contempt. We are still heretics to them. The same could easily be said about us, as we believe the successor to Saint Peter is the head of the Church.

Would love it to happen, so we could stand up to secularisation and atheism, but highly doubt it.

It will never happen. A while back, I visited an Eastern Orthodox forum. They reject the doctrine of Purgatory especially those here in the states. If it were to happen it, would not be unamious. The U.S. sect would split from the European.

Ahhh a little more optimism!!
All things are possible with Faith!

:slight_smile:
Slan agus Beannacht De!!

optimism is great, realism is even beter at times :slight_smile:

From what I understand, the doctrine of purgatory – while not formulated in the Orthodox churches – is yet still believed. This from Catholic Answers: "When I [Jimmy Akin] began looking at the issues separating Catholics and Orthodox, it turned out that a lot of them were more semantic than substantive. If I became Orthodox, I would have to accept more Catholic things than I at first thought: purgatory, for example. Orthodox don’t traditionally use the word purgatory for the purification that happens after death, but they acknowledge that such a purification happens. They pray for the souls of the departed, which makes sense only if those prayers can help the departed in some way.