The Implicit Message of Inequality in Catholicism?

Hello everyone.

I have been making my way toward the Church for a few months now, and I’ve finally conveyed my strong desire to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation to my Chi Alpha pastor. I was hesitant for a while because he’s been very pivotal in the development of my Christian faith, as have been all of my Chi Alphan friends, and I knew I would be departing from him on an unprecedented level in pursuing the Church. I highly respect and love my friends and especially my campus pastor.

Briefly, Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship is a non-denominational Christian organization that works primarily with college students in enriching the Christian faith; some of you have probably heard of it. Though it is non-denominational (one of my Catholic friends is part of my Chi Alpha chapter), in practice, it is very close to evangelical Protestantism.

Anyway, after talking to him for a while, he mentioned one of his major “friction points” with Catholicism that I wasn’t really sure how to respond to. It is the rejection of the egalitarian view of the Church priesthood (i.e. priesthood of all believers) by the Catholic Church that smacks of an implicit sense of Christian inequality to him.

To expound: that a Christian must go through a process to ‘become’ a priest (and thus receive the power to dispense the Sacraments) seems to implicitly convey that the priesthood is ‘more Christian’ or ‘closer to God’ than the layperson (he also sees the idea of the Church priesthood as ‘dispenser of the Sacraments’ as also inherently inequitable). He, of course, recognizes that the Church does not explicitly teach the idea that the priesthood is ‘better’ than lay Catholics.