The meaning of "church"

In attempting to establish an authoritative church with my non-Catholic Christian uncle, he had this to say (forgive me, I know this is a little long):

*Church: when I studied this I investigated the original language which is “Hebraic” Greek, written by Jews who had become followers of Yeshua. So, here is a study on the word “church” which you can check out yourself. The Greek word used for church is ekklesia. But the disciples did not speak Greek they spoke Hebrew. The etymology of this word is very interesting as the meaning for church did not mean an “institution” but a gathering, as does the word synagogue, the Hebrew word for ekklesia is “edah” and for synagogue it is “kahal”. (An interesting side note the word church is not a direct translation of ekklesia and comes from a transliteration of the invented Greek word Kuriakon (which means “house of the Lord”) but according to the Greek-English Lexicon Kuriakos stems from kirk, kirche, church, which is further defined as a circle a Latin derivative.) These words are used to describe either a place to gather (for a specific reason) or to describe a group of people who gather for a specific reason. At the time the bible was written ekklesia had no “religious” connotation. So, the words, assembly, congregation and/or community are the proper translations. If you put any of these words both in the usage of synagogue or church, you will not only change the way it reads but also take any theology that gives “this church” a right to claim they are God’s Israel today. *