The Merciful Mysteries of the Holy Rosary


These are the Merciful Mysteries of the Holy Rosary:

  1. The Baptism in the Jordan.
  2. The Wedding at Cana.
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom.
  4. The Transfiguration.
  5. The Institution of the Holy Eucharist.

They are all characteristic of God’s mercy for us.


John Paul II added them as the Luminous Mysteries, the Mysteries of Light.


As the previous poster said, these are the Lumious Mysteries. John Paul II officially added them to the Rosary some years ago when he promulagated Rosarium Virginis Mariae.


Yes, Pope John Paul II mentioned the Luminous Mysteries in 2002.

“The Merciful Mysteries of the Holy Rosary” is the original name of these mysteries that have been revealed since 1991.

Pope John Paul II was given these by someone who mistakenly gave him the incorrect title.

However, “Luminous” and “Merciful” are almost synonymous as we see in the image of the Divine Mercy: the light of Christ’s Divine Mercy coming from His Sacred Heart.

The reason they are named “Merciful” and not “Luminous” is because each of the Mysteries from the Gospel reveal God’s mercy for us. This is in the Christ’s decree for penance and the conversions that occur. To ground the title “Mysteries of Light” on the mere fact that Christ is the Light of the World is only the bark of these Mysteries. When you get to the pith of these Mysteries, you will find out that they are more suitably titled “The Mysteries of Mercy.”


The pith is that Christ is the Way, the Truth, and the Light (not only the Light). These Mysteries are all signs of Heaven. If we follow Christ on the path of repentance, then we recieve His mercy, have mercy for others, and are granted eternal salvation.

The light aspect of these Mysteries is an incomplete realization of the fullness of the Merciful Mysteries.

To state further, the patrons of these five Mysteries are Our Lady of Mercy and the archangel Uriel. The title, Our Lady of Mercy, speaks for itself. The archangel Uriel’s name means “God is my Light,” so there is a truth behind the title “Luminous” Mysteries, Mysteries of Light. However, Uriel is the archangel of fire and light, not only light, and is known to be the archangel of repentance.

These Mysteries are of reconciliation; of Christ: the Way, the Truth, and the Light.


These are the Luminous Mysteries and are the public ministry of Jesus.


Yes, and how He manifests His Divinity in His ministry, how He brings it into the light.


Do you have any sources for this?


Ok, Christ and Mary are the people who we look at mainly in all of the Mysteries of the Holy Rosary. We also look at the filial relationship they have for each other and for ourselves.

In the Wedding at Cana, Mary asks Jesus to have mercy on the people at the Wedding feast. Thus, His first miracle is performed in the name of mercy. That is why He came, to bring us light in our darkness, to give us hope in our despair, to give us faith in our doubt, to give us joy in our sorrow. Essentially, to convert us. That is a part of what public ministry is about. There is more to it.

These five Mysteries are only characteristic of the mercy of His public ministry. Mercy is light, but it also is care and concern. And light is faith, and with light (faith) brings understanding. This conversion is merciful because he is converting our hearts with His Sacred Heart and Mary with her Immaculate Heart.


These aren’t Jesus’ entire public ministry. These are only the Mysteries of Mercy. John Paul II quotes Jesus’ words that “while He is in the world, He is the Light of the World.” That is true. But these Mysteries are only of the prominent mysteries which are of His mercy to us that we may go to Heaven if we repent. These are not Jesus’ entire public ministry. They are of His most characteristic acts of mercy/signs of Heaven.


DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in these forums do not necessarily reflect those of Catholic Answers. For official apologetics resources please visit