The mystery of mass

I’m new to Roman Catholic mass, but have become attached to certain parts that have changed since Lent ended, and I’m not sure why. For example, they haven’t sung the kyrie eleison in the last two weeks or so. I thought that was a part of every mass and I miss it.

Also, we’re singing the petitons differently. I understand most parishes have variations, e.g. some parishes simply speak the response “Lord, hear our prayer,” after every petition. Others sing it, but still sing a simple, “Lord, hear our prayer.” We were singing Trilingual Intercessions during the petition, which meant we would sing, “Lord, hear our prayer,” in English, Latin and Spanish. Since Easter, however, we have switched to the simple English reply. I don’t know if this is the pastors’ choice, the musical director’s choice or part of the ordinary seasonal changes. I miss this too.

I suppose I can’t expect the mass to be exactly the same every single time, but I just wonder if there’s a rhyme or reason for it all. Please let me know. Thanks!****

I belong to a parish which tends to vary musical settings and and options by Liturgical season. It sounds like your parish is doing the same thing.

It is usual for Lent to be more subdued and to emphasize penitential actions. It is usual for the Easter season to emphasize Baptism, new life, and joy. Just as in our own lives, some events (like weddings) have joyful, sorrowful, and/or bittersweet aspects to them, the key parts of the Mass likewise have different facets.

As Fr. David mentioned, the Penitential Rite (which is where you’d here the Kyrie) can be “replaced” by a sprinkling rite. Since the sprinkling rite is a reminder of our baptism (and Baptism washes us clean of sin) it would be sort of “redundant” to have both rites. It is very common to see parishes use the sprinkling rite throughout the joyful season of Easter.