The Philosophy of the Mind & Catholicism

PS: This is pretty complex. I was wondering what philosophical view the Catholic Church teaches on the mind. Hear me out. I understand that we as Catholics believe in free will but in more philosophically complex language what is that view specifically? Is that a substance dualism or
property dualism? Is there another view specific view on this that better supports the Catholic view? Thanks for your time! (Also PPS: I’m a beginner at philosophy so my apologies for not fully understanding these concepts very well.)

It is hylomorphic dualism.

Thank You very much

There’s not a specific, dogmatic philosophy of the mind, and different Catholoc theologians have different approaches. One of the most influential, traditional Catholic thinkers on philosophy of the mind is Thomas Aquinas. Aquinas did hold to a hylemorphic dualism, but this is neither substance dualism nor property dualism.

The brain plays a huge part in consciousness and the mind, but abstract thought requires an immaterial operation to grasp universals. (This isn’t hylemorphic dualism, by the way, that’s something else, it does connect to his PotM, but it’s not his explanation of PotM). This isn’t a separate immaterial substance united to a material substance, it’s simply an operation that a human does. It’s an Aristotlean view od substances, it’s an Aristotlean view of causation, it’s not limited to a mechanical view of nature like Descartes or other rationalist or modern philosophers took.

This is were i tend to have difficulty with Aquinas, because i view the intellect as a thing in itself operating through the workings of a material object. I don’t see how it’s possible not to view the intellect and the brain as representing an immaterial nature united with a material nature without committing to some kind of monism. I see no middle ground.