"The Priest Will Separate You Two..."

My husband and I will be convalidating our marriage next year. I would like to be able to receive Communion again but we are only married civilly. We would have our convalidation sooner but I would like a few family members to attend and they live outside of our country so travel arrangements are a concern.

We will be meeting with a priest at our church soon. When I spoke to the church secretary, she mentioned that our priest will separate us and ask each of us questions. Any idea as to what the priest will ask?

1 Like

I’m no expert but my guess is he wants to determine that each of you consented to be in a married relationship and intends to continue in it. So that he can establish retroactive validity.

5 Likes

I’m not saying he will tell you this but he JUST told my niece and her boyfriend they had to live SEPERATELY until the wedding. Now being y’all are married he may just say NO relations until the wedding. But this is something that a priest usually tells a civilly married couple who want to be Sacramentally married in the Church.

Thanks! I appreciate this information.

Yes, I agree that the priest will tell us that we cannot make love until our wedding.
I seriously doubt that the priest will ask us to live apart until our marriage is convalidated since we’re already married.

That will be wait and see I guess. Praying for y’all. You’ll be so glad you got married in the Church.

2 Likes

This rebuke seems a bit hasty. Only very limited information was offered in this post. We don’t know how they came to be civilly married…

2 Likes