The Rise & Fall of the History Channel

Check out this video: youtube.com/watch?v=utDHcbiOfKY&list=PL94C60B346C38DD9F&index=3&feature=plpp_video

And this article: cracked.com/funny-5720-the-history-channel/

You can read the whole thing but as they say one graphic is worth a kiloword:

http://cdn-www.cracked.com/articleimages/ob/history/historyprograms_OB.jpg

They used to show history. Now they show the History Channel. And I don’t watch. I read.

That is why there are 199 other channels!:p

The History Channel is about entertainment, not history. It sometimes really frustrates me the way they "spin" a topic by letting people with fringe opinions seem mainstream.

I don't mind fringe material on the History Channel as long as there is some supporting evidence. As a professional researcher, I've been surprised on many occasions regarding historical information and the blatant lack of a definitive reply from the US government about UFOs along with the attendant ridicule. I'm a firm believer that some people are indeed seeing solid objects. Otherwise, I've watched at least one program on the History Channel where fact checking and actual history were replaced by guesses or opinions in a few cases.

Peace,
Ed

You can include the National Geographic Channel and Discovery Communications owned channels to that list.