The role of laity, liturgy and charisms

This may be a stupid question, as I have no practical experience with the Catholic Church at all.

However, it would seem to me, that when one person in the church has the role of priest (concentrating a lot of offices in one person), there is no place for the charismatic gifts. Also, with the liturgy being rather — firmly established, I don’t see when and how the gifts could be practiced.

Yet as I read the Scriptures (fallible as I am), and according to what I see in other churches practically everyone has something to contribute with to the service. A Catholic would not be able to deliver a prophetic word at chruch, would he?

My impression is, that going to church for a Catholic is mainly about the Eucharist, so I understand that this will be the main focus. But is there any other time, when gifts can be excercised for the edification of the Body?

But is there room for “charismatic” laity in the Roman Church? Is there room for the gifts of the Spirit - even when they are not found with the one person who is appointed priest?

• CB

Yes! Yes! And even more Yes! There is definitely room for a charismatic laity in the Catholic Church. As John Paul II said, “the hierarchical and the charismatic dimensions of the Church are co-essential.”

However, there are some important distinctions to be made. By the grace of baptism, we are not only adopted by God as sons daughters, united to the Body of Christ, but we also share in Christ’s priestly, prophetic, and royal office. This means that every baptized man and woman (laypeople) bears a personal responsibility for the mission of the Church.