The Rosary and Chaplets

Recently, I’ve been looking to get myself a Rosary and a chaplet (specifically Saint Michael the Archangel’s). I really want to pray these but I’ve run into the issue of obtaining them. I was wondering if it is a good idea to order these items off of Amazon or some other online service. I ask mainly because these may not be blessed, but I’d be willing to ask my priest to bless them either way.

So, is there a problem with obtaining them this way? Further, is it bad to not pray with blessed Rosaries and chaplets?

It may sound silly, but I’m new to this stuff. Thank you in advance.

1 Like

Welcome to CAF!

Yes, you may purchase them online and ask your priest to bless them for you after mass. Any priest I have asked has always been more than happy to do so. Some have said the most beautiful words in doing so. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Welcome!

And no there is nothing wrong with buying a rosary online. If anything it is good that you do as your money will help support that company pay the catholics making the rosary and help future catholics obtain a rosary. Same goes for a chaplet.

It is fine to pray with an unblessed rosary, but getting it blessed just makes it all the more special.

If you want my advice, get a nice high quality rosary. The cheaper ones tend to get tangled or the chains break or the rope snaps. The pull chain (military grade) rosaries like the ones the swiss guard use are very nice. You can get it for $30usd

Fr. Heilman sells them at Roman Catholic Gear.
Rugged Rosaries also has a fine collection of high quality rosaries.

But if your budget doesnt allow it, all is good.
Additionally, you can download the “Laudate” app and use the virtual rosary and chaplets (including St. Micheals) for free.

God love you!

1 Like

Purchase one wherever you like. You cannot purchase blessings, so you’ll need to get any rosary you purchase blessed (no matter what the listing might say).