The Value of Life Regardless of Capacity or Ability

Hi all = )
God love you! This is great!
This is my first post. Here goes.
I'm a social worker (currently working for Catholic Charities & due to graduate with an MSW in June, Lord willing) and come across gray moral issues all the time with my peers & colleagues.
As of late, a classmate approached me looking for articles that might bring comfort or understanding to a client ("Jake" for simplicity's sake) whose father has become completely incapacitated (cannot speak, move on his own, etc) by a stroke. Jake is so distraught because he knows his father would have never wanted to live like this. Jake has some semblance of a faith life (goes to church) and finds himself praying for his father's death rather than have to live like this. Be that good or bad, Jake is struggling a lot just because of the stress of knowing his father is living like this, and that's the issue here (and where God can work in his life, presumably).
I see my role in this situation to be to try to refer her to articles/books/websites/other resources that she can give to Jake to not only console him in this difficult time, but to do so by assuring him of his father's value and even quality of life by explaining his father's value as a person despite his capacity/ability, and God's presence in the life of his father beyond any of our understanding. I'm always hoping for an opportunity to witness to classmates about God's glorious plan for us (including the value of LIFE), and the MOST comforting thing for Jake will be to know how his father may not be suffering as much as Jake thinks he is (or, if he is, how redemptive it can be for his soul).