The Vocal and Instruments Mechanics of Chant

Yeah. Another thread on sacred music. But this one is not intended to be about what kind of music is preferred. My intention is to discuss how chant is technically different from other styles of music. I’m hoping musicians can share tricks and tips for introducing chant into parishes where it has not been the norm and to improve the quality of the chant in parishes where the quality of the chanting could use some, er, improvement.

First off, I am not the highly trained musician that you are. However I have been singing choral music for some 35 years, some very good, …and some pretty not-so-good. The current music director at my parish is the only one who ever sold me on chant. (And I admit to liking much --but not all-- contemporary Catholic music.) My previous experiences with chant… Well, let’s just say I did not care for it. I will further say that my music director is classically trained but also taught himself to play piano in the style of Elton John. He has a long history with Paul Salamunovich who is one of the more prominent choral conductors in southern California’s music history. So my music director knows chant.

The point of all this is that my conductor has explained to us how chanting is DEFINITELY different than typical western singing. It’s not even like sacred polyphony …although there is some overlap with vocal techniques.

A first major point is language. Romance languages (such as Latin) are different from English and other more Germanic languages in that they are aspirate languages rather than guttural languages. I think that’s a better way of describing it than saying they are head voices rather than chest or nasal voices. Chant is best sung with an aspirate voice. Nasal resonance is good. Nasal tone is very, very bad.