They Should Do It To Him [Man Starves Dog for Art]

This may be the most infuriating, disgusting thing I’ve read in years. From a reader: In 2007, Costa Rican “artist” Guillermo Vargas
Habacuc, took a dog from the street, tied him to a
rope in an art gallery in Honduras, and starved him to
death. For several days, the ‘artist’ and the
visitors of the exhibition have watched emotionless
the shameful ‘masterpiece’ based on the dog’s agony,
until eventually he died. And now the prestigious
Visual Arts Biennial of the Central American decided
that the ‘installation’ was actually art, so that
Guillermo Vargas Habacuc has been invited to repeat
his cruel action for the biennial of 2008.

[Go [URL=“http://guillermohabacucvargas.blogspot.com/”]here and here]

I’m an artist (painter) and this sort of thing infuriates me.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

That anyone should torture an animal for their own sadistic pleasure and call it “art” is beyond me…it is “evil”…not “art”. I signed the petition and left a very un-Quakerly comment stating just what I thought of his “evil”…aka…“art”.

To return violence for violence would not be a solution however.

I am signature #1059594

Original post came from here:

corner.nationalreview.com/post/?q=ODM0ODJhYjQyN2VhMDFmMzYzYTI5OTBjMzhmMzAxZDI=

However, it looks like there may be more to this story than originally posted. See:

dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/worldnews.html?in_article_id=561815&in_page_id=1811

The fact that he keeps changing his story makes me think that the dog actually died. After all, if the dog had lived, there would have been no need to lie about it, and it would be easy enough to produce the dog and show that he was still alive.

People starve to death, too. Should we take a child from Darfur, and chain him up to watch him die?