Things Catholics do

Hello everyone,

I’m not sure if this post should go here, or under another board, but this seemed like a good place to ask.

I’ve been in RCIA since it began in August. I’m new to going to Church in general, though. I’ve never been baptized… so all of this is really new to me. I have some questions about what I see people do during Mass, though. There is a part where people make the sign of the Cross on their foreheads? Why do they do that? What does it mean? I don’t do it, because I don’t know why they’re doing it and I don’t want to mimic without knowing or I’ll just look like a monkey :stuck_out_tongue:

And there is a part in the Mass where it goes like this:

Priest: The Lord be with you.
People: And with your spirit.

The part where the Priest says it, he lifts up his hands. I understand that. The part where the people respond, about half of my congregation lift up their hands at their response. As a matter of fact, about half or so lift their hands up at every response they do that the Priest does it. Why? Am I doing it wrong by not lifting up my hands. I don’t feel comfortable mimicing our Priest or the congregation, but it seems like they are doing it as well? Someone please inform me!

Thank you in advance! I’m sure I’m leaving some things out, but these are the two main things I’m stuck on. If you want to add anything else into your response, maybe things other new Catholics get confused about, go right ahead! :slight_smile:

Before the Gospel is read, we (usually silently) pray “Lord, let your word be on my mind, in my heart, and on my lips” or some variation thereof. You make a small cross on your forehead, heart, and mouth with your thumb. If there is an exact wording, I’d love to know it too! LOL

We are not supposed to mimic the priest- but yes, at most churches I’ve visited (we travel), 30-60% of the congregation will do this :stuck_out_tongue: