"Too Catholic"

I debated whether to put this in the apologetics thread, but I think it is relevant here because my background in apologetics is what is at the root of this story, which I have to share. I am in my first year as principal of our Cathedral school, and aside from all the great things we have going on acedemically and athletically, we’ve started several programs to better prepare, not just the students, but the parents to know, love, and defend the faith. Things are going great, and I got a wonderful complaint today.

Someone complained anonymously to the school board president that I was being “too Catholic”.

Isn’t that so cool?

That is awesome! Congrats! haha:p

I’d hate to think what the complainer would have said about Christ. :wink:

I’m trying to pinpoint exactly where I went wrong. Maybe it’s from putting stuff like this in my e-newsletters:

[LEFT]Last week our second graders participated in their first reconciliation. I can remember the anticipation, nervousness, and excitement that I experienced when I made my first confession as a child, but also as an adult when I came back to the church after haven fallen away several years ago.[/LEFT]

[LEFT]For many Catholics, the sacrament is one of the first practices to go as elements of our childhood faith fall away. There are many rationalizations that people tend to make to keep themselves out the confessional, and I will look at a few of these:[/LEFT]

Why can I not just confess straight to God?