Torn between two parishes

Merry Christmas everyone!

I was wondering if any other brothers and sisters are in the same predicament.

I have been attending the same parish now for more than 25 years (since the 6th grade) and have been very active as an altar server, EMHC, lector, CCD teacher, member of the Liturgy Commission etc. You name it I have done it! :)

Now, here is my dilemma: I see myself drawn to a more traditional parish just across town where they have benediction, adoration, EF of the Mass, Confession twice a week, etc. How does one break ties with a parish they have been so involved in for so many years? Do I just keep going to both? :confused:

Thanks for your advice!

Why do you need to break ties? Go to both. Many who attend the EF, because of family, confession, and other involvements, do that.

You can handle this however you want. Do you want to go to both parishes? Do you want to go to just one? That's the beauty of the Catholic Church. You can go where you want!

If you want to go to 2 churches, go to 2 churches. If you want to switch, then switch. If anybody asks what happened, say you're going to this other Catholic Church.

Call me crazy, but I don't see this as being any different than going to two different parishes because of Mass times and a commute for work or school.

I do understand that it would not be feasible to be responsible for CCD or EMHC duties in both parishes, so at some point you are going to have to make a choice. However, until you are sure where your "home" should be, there's nothing wrong with "two-churching it".

I heard a really interesting replay of 12/16's The Journey Home, with an Anglican Priest who converted after his retirement. He said he'd been called into the Church his whole life, and it was a journey of just continually saying "yes" to God. Keep that in mind and we'll not stray far, shall we?

Blessings,
V