Trigger point Massage Therapy

Hi everyone,

Could anyone help my friend is going into a massage therapist who’s doing trigger point massage therapy and I wonder if any of you heard of anything in “esalen” or “yoga based stretches” that conflicts with Catholic spirituality?

In the website, he mentions that he combines several bodyworks such as myofascial, esalen, nurturing swedish, triggerpoint work, deep tissue, and yoga based stretches. Under esalen and yoga based stretches, he describes;

esalen: “Wavelike delicious long strokes without end. My style of Esalen is trance inducing, deep, sensual and a prominent part of my massage rift. My mentor, Glenn Wilson of Tucson was an accomplished Esalen practitioner”

yoga based stretches: “Flowing from my experience I employ and transfer various asanas (yoga routines)from the yoga to the table into your massage.”

I’d really appreciate your input / comment.

Hi! I am a massage therapist. a Trigger point is an area in the muscle fiber that is hyper- irritable. sometimes when a muscle relaxes, there is a fiber or portion of fiber that stays contracted. (Someone who is dehydrated may experience this as well as other situations)After staying in this condition for a while, that point on the muscle/or fiber, may begin to actually “trigger” pain or refer pain to another area. Trigger point therapy uses techniques to specifically release this contraction and hyper-irritability.The treatments are mechanical and physical and do not involve “new age” or “energy” work that the Us conference of Bishops warn against. Now, an individual therapist may incorporate something else that does for example Reiki. But I am very “western” in my approach to massage. Trigger point therapy alone doesn’t conflict.
As for the others you mention, I’m not familiar with.