Trump Administration Uses Civil Rights Laws To Protect Pro-Life Health Care Workers

“Nurses and doctors who dedicate their careers to saving lives should not be coerced into helping take lives in abortion or assisted suicide,” said Roger Severino, who heads the Conscience and Religious Freedom Division at HHS. He likens the fight to protect religious freedom to the civil rights era. “America has reached a point where people understand that you should not be forcing others to perform abortions against their will," he also said.

“The Trump administration is seeking to offer protection to health care workers who object to procedures such as abortion or assisted suicide on religious grounds.”

3 Likes

Wonder how the Dem apologists on here will address this one. Probably they’ll just say he doesn’t mean it.

1 Like

I’m lost. I don’t know who Roger Severino is or what kind of background he has in medicine, but as a practicing physician, I have never been “forced” to provide services I don’t believe in. While I believe in a woman’s right to choose, I do not believe in abortion (God gave us all free will, so it is not my place to tell someone what they should do; they must make their own decisions. If God didn’t let us exercise our free will then Adam and Eve never would have eaten from the tree; He would have stopped them from sinning, but alas, that did not happen, and here we are).
During my residency training I was offered the opportunity to train in abortion services and I declined and my decision was not only respected but I was also asked to what extent I would be willing to participate in a patient’s care when it came to managing complications if they should arise.
So I have never been FORCED to provide abortion services nor has my job ever been in jeopardy for not being willing to participate in abortion services.

1 Like

Thanks. The doctors i know have not ever, nor would they ever, perform and abortion; they have strong opinions about those who do.