Trump threatens to cut funding to schools that do not reopen

Seems like a common sense move. No sense in throwing money at a school that’s not open.

2 Likes

He said he disagrees with the Center for Disease Control based on the expense of the guidelines, not based on science or medicine. Tell me again how the president is pro-life, not just anti-abortion?

8 Likes

In my area the school superintendents are meeting in a week or so to decide how to open schools safely.

In the meantime, the districts are trying to line up extra janitorial and nursing staff.

The local colleges are trying approaches that range from half the students in-class and the other on Zoom (then switch at the next class day) to trying to close the campus to visitors to not letting the students leave campus until Thanksgiving.

Yup, a big ol’ honkin’ train wreck :tram: :steam_locomotive::boom::neutral_face:

3 Likes

What about commuter students? I was a commuter student who went to a college where about 75% were dormers.

3 Likes

I hope the school do open this fall. I know 2 of my nephews have come to despise online learning. One nephew was a HS Senior when the virus shut his school down, and turned classes into online courses. He was vocal about his displeasure. The nephew is now set to attend USC in the fall and was glad to learn recently that USC has decided to open their doors in the fall for students. If they had not opened I believe he was thinking of taking the year off.

The other nephew has been taking online college courses this summer and greatly dislikes on line learning. He’s ready for in person classes to begin.

3 Likes

Hence, the train wreck

1 Like

The NY Times is reporting that the CDC will revise their school opening guidelines in response to Trump’s attacks on them.

Seems like Trump & Co. haven’t learned anything from the past five months. The Covid is in the driver’s seat here.

4 Likes