Truth + Love + Beauty

Dear friends,

Christ's peace!

I'm afraid this will be one of those impossibly broad, practically unanswerable questions about finding a religious order. I know the best place to ask these questions is in spiritual direction, but my first session with my new director isn't for another two or three weeks, so in the meantime I thought I'd ask around....I have been feeling a little restless this afternoon!

I've been discerning a vocation for three or four years. At one point I made a hasty decision to apply to an apostolic religious order, which accepted me before I'd really thought hard about whether that particular charism would be a good fit for me. I left after a year in the novitiate; it was a beautiful year with great experiences, but it quickly became clear that that order's spirituality wasn't my own.

One of my problems is an Augustinian restless heart; I want everything! More specifically, I adore God as truth, love, and beauty, which sometimes makes me feel pulled in different directions:

I am an intellectual by nature, enamored of the pursuit of truth, and I think decently gifted as a teacher. I get kind of bored when not intellectually stimulated. So a part of me is attracted to teaching orders like the Dominicans and the Salesians, and to the diocesan Sulpicians.

But some of my best years have been spent in ministry with the very poor; one of my most powerful experiences of prayer was walking through the dirt streets of a border town and hearing the prayer "Lord, make me a friend of the poor" suddenly emerge from my soul. A part of me yearns to be a missionary, living his life in the streets with the neglected, rather than sequestered in an Ivory Tower.