Turning the cheek

I am a bit confused on how far we should go concerning Jesus’s teaching on the mount about turning the cheek.

Luke Chapter 6
27"But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. 29If someone strikes you on one cheek, turn to him the other also. If someone takes your cloak, do not stop him from taking your tunic. 30Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back. 31Do to others as you would have them do to you.

According to Jesus, do I have the right to stand up for myself? If someone threatens to take my child, do I willingly hand him over? Where is the line drawn?

I can’t tell you what Jesus had in mind exactly; I’m not an expert. I assume Jesus is being hyperbolic in order to make a point about not exacting revenge. Moments later he goes on to say “don’t give what is holy to dogs, don’t throw your pearls before swine lest they trample them, then turn and devour you”.

The Bible is constantly “regulating” itself. “Love your mother and father.” “Whoever does not hate his mother and father cannot follow me.” We just have to look through the obvious to understand the deeper message.

The Catholic Church specifically teaches that defending yourself is perfectly appropriate and if death results to the aggressor, so be it, so long as either a) it was an accident or b) killing the aggressor was proportionate to the crime perpetrated against you. Both of these (a and b) must also conform with a criteria: that the method you used to disable the aggressor was appropriate (if you can just as easily stop the situation by brandishing a weapon, shooting in the leg, etc… without risk to yourself, you are not justified in blasting someone in the face)