TV in the home, what are your thoughts?

Dear Brothers and Sisters in the Faith,

I’m completely new to Catholicism. I’ve been reading many articles about becoming a Catholic and I have a true appreciation and new outlook on many topics in regards to the Catholic faith. One Catholic article I read (I’ll attach the link below) talks about TV and limiting it or completely getting rid of it all together. We do not allow our children to watch TV, but I wondered how many others feel the same way? Do you come across many people in the church like us, who don’t have TV? Thank you. Please respond kindly to this question and to each other, as I am looking for those who would be willing to respond in love, and in the spirit of Christ.

http://m.catholicbible101.com/site/mobile?dm_path=%2Ftelevisionandyoursoul.htm&fw_sig_session_key=40eb526db1e06f6bc3b13017b5e6642506e0b689ec9d486ef4c9c59df6881f83-34661311&fw_sig_social=1&fw_sig_api_key=522b0eedffc137c934fc7268582d53a1&fw_sig_premium=1&fw_sig_permissions=none&fw_sig_tier=2&fw_sig_permission_level=0&fw_sig=984cdf29e6301ff315b3e70cebdb7e36&fw_sig_site=34661311&fw_sig_time=1522203751678&fw_sig_url=http://www.catholicbible101.com/&fw_sig_partner=webs&fw_sig_potential_abuse=1&fw_sig_access_token=bff9bb764b942bb06cb7c6913a953efdcc582335&fw_sig_locale=en-US&fw_sig_is_admin=0&fb_sig_network=fw#2103

We don’t have young children around so we have the TV going just for the noise, I think. We watch a lot of Reality Shows, home improvement, news, weather… Hardly ever movies. I watch EWTN but DH is not Catholic. I don’t really like sitcoms. Too much sexual innuendos even for two old fuddy-duddies… at least that’s my feeling. I hope someone with children will help you see what their TV time is like. Praying for you…

1 Like