Two Quesions from a Newbie

Hi!
I’m a newbie here to this site. I am considering converting to RC, so I thought this site was really cool when I came across it in a google.:thumbsup:

I’ll be asking lots of questions as I think them up, and reading through lots of posts! Today I have two questions.

1.What is the church’s view on a baby who is born prematurely (like a micro preemie)…meaning life saving intervention…and what if the baby does poorly and the decision to remove life support needs to be made (if the baby is dying)?

2.Will the church recognize a civil marriage while one of the intended parties to the marriage is in the middle of converting in order to have a baby…so that the baby is born in the context of marriage? IOW, will marrying outside the church suffice so that you can have a baby (due to age and complication factors), be married, and get the marriage blessed by the church at some other point?

Thanks!
Patty

Hi! Welcome to the Forums! :wave:

1. The church states that a human may be removed from life support machines that are considered extraordinary means to keep someone alive. However, this excludes simple means like feeding tubes because everyone needs to eat.

2. I’m not sure I understand your second question.

The Catholic church does not recognize a civil union because marriage is a sacrament. One can con-validate the marriage at a later date. Though it’s not as simple as saying a blessing over the couple.

Generally speaking, a priest tends not to marry a couple due to pregnancy as that could render the marriage Null in the future.

Marrying outside the church is only allowed if one has permission of the church.

I’d suggest you speak to a priest. Sounds like a visit to your church will help clear up your questions.