Typhus Epidemic Worsens in Los Angeles

Is California joining the roster of failed states like Venezuela and Haiti?

No.

Generally speaking, Typhus is an “overcrowding and filth” disease. It appears this outbreak is in places where there are a lot of homeless, so it’s not terribly surprising that such diseases would show up.

I’m no expert on California, but it sometimes seems “third world” in the sense that there is enormous wealth but also terrible poverty. It is not unreasonable, however, to speculate that most of the homelessness is not due to the economy of the state so much as it is due to drug use and mental disease.

2 Likes

Are you sure?

The articles I linked show CA as spiraling up.

1 Like

Where ever it is it’s a blight on our society…not just California…go to youtube and look at dashcam videos that people are taking driving around some of the major cities here in the US…it really is scary to see where some people are living and the squalor in which they are living…it’s like scenes from 3rd world countries

Turning parts of California into a third-world country.