Un Baptized Getting a Divorce

Hi,

Curious question here…

Recently a non Catholic female friend has been confiding in me about her pending divorce. I’ve been telling her to stay married as I always thought that’s it for Catholics…it’s not much help for her…especially as she’s expressed interest in Catholicism…

Not being an expert I went to the Catechism and found this:

“1625 The parties to a marriage covenant are a baptized man and woman, free to contract marriage, who freely express their consent;”

Does this mean un baptized could get a civil divorce, be Baptized Catholic and marry in the Catholic Church without the gamble if annulment?

This seems to be one of 3 requirements for it to be a Catholic marriage.
Must both be baptized? What if only one?

I’m I right?

I just have a feeling she’s gonna ask me about the Church at some point and I hate to have to say “no divorce…no 2nd marriage for you” as an introduction…

Thanks,

Tubac

If she married a baptized person in a recognized Christian denomination she may need to seek a nullity of marriage; she can, of course, still become a Catholic even if she is a divorced person - the question will be whether or not she will be considered MARRIED in the eyes of the Church.

Have her speak to the DRE of your parish. We deal with people with very complicated situations all the time and oftentimes the problems are not as convoluted as they fear. If God is calling her Home to Rome, He will not make it too difficult for her to answer that call.
You are a good friend.

Thanks,

The typical sermon doesn’t provide loopholes as it were.

I guess there must be some…This one has a couple potential: Husband lied about a previous marriage and child…she was addicted and alcoholic…