Underemployed, looking for Catholic Media work

I have a Bachelor’s in Theology and Religious Studies. I want to work in the Catholic media or in a Church administrative office in a commuications or editorial capacity. I live in the Washington, DC area where such jobs are normally found, but after applying to such jobs for years I have had no success. I believe I have explored every avenue, including sending my resume to diocesan newspapers and Catholic periodicals. I am approaching my 28th birthday and have never had a full-time job; I have been underemployed since college. For almost three years now I have worked a part-time job with a private Catholic organization. It is bland work which does not utilize my talents, and I originally regarded it as no more than a stepping stone to a better (and full-time) job, but I have had to stay in it because of my inability to find anything else. I was grateful to find it, since I graduated just as the unemployment crisis hit and it took me about three years after college even to find that job. I also work part-time as a classical violinist, which brings me some extra income. Whenever a job of interest is posted (which is not very frequently) I apply immediately. However, the requirements are often stringent (e.g., requiring one to speak Spanish, whereas I speak Italian and French but not Spanish). Plus, there are so many other people out there applying for these jobs that some of them get hundreds of applications, meaning that there’s little likelihood of my getting an interview. (In two years of actively applying for jobs I have had a total of three interviews). I feel as if the odds are against me. I feel depressed and anxious a great deal of the time, that life is passing me by and I have a lot of unfilled potential. The bright spot is that I have no college debt and God has given me a good family to fall back on, but I still feel very depressed.

praying that God will guide you to the work He wants you to do!