University of Dallas Graduate Programs?

Good morning:

I am discerning work on a masters degree in theology. Because of where I live, as well as many family and professional responsibilities, I am only looking at programs that offer all or most of their courses in a distance/online format.

The University of Dallas has what looks like a very interesting Masters of Theological Studies program. Does anyone have any experience with this particular program, or with U Dallas in general?

Thanks, and all good.

Hi filiaecclesia,

Just saw your post about the University of Dallas and wanted to give my two cents.

I am a graduate of UD (theology major) and really loved my time there. I was impressed with their approach to theology – it was challenging, respectful and open to critical reflection and discussion. The teachers facilitated worthwhile discussion while also completely respecting and upholding the teachings of the Catholic Church. I learned so much about my faith and why the Church does and believes what it does.

While I can not speak as a graduate/student of their online master’s program in theological studies, I would expect the same approaches would be taken. For students who do not have access to theological education of this nature in their area, I would think this would be the perfect program for them. I did a little searching on the UD website, and found a link to more information on their online master’s degree program: udallas.edu/academics/ministry/online/olmasters. It looks like you should contact Geralyn Rea (grea@udallas.edu) for more information.

Hope this helps!

Thanks very much for your thoughts. Someone asked me today about UD’s affiliation, i.e. if the school is affiliated with a particular order or diocese. I recall from the website that it is not. My friend then said, “Well, what is their philosophy, vis a vis the Church?” It appears that the school is fairly “conservative” and faithful to the Church, which you confirmed.