Unwed mother, conservative parents

good morning. i am a 31 yr old professional woman who lives overseas. i was raised catholic by devout parents in the US. i have a strong faith in God, but i am not catholic. i recently fell in love with a buddhist man, and i found out one week ago that i am pregnant.

this was not planned, and i intend on keeping the baby. i have an incredible support system where i live and have no worries about my choice. i am not married, and right now i do not have plans to get married. my feelings about that may change as i get closer to my due date (sept 28th.)

i love my parents with all my heart and i am terrified about what they will do when they find out. not only does this go against their core values and the values of the religion they taught their children, it will certainly cause them shame and embarrassment in their community.

i feel terrible keeping this secret from them, but i am so scared about what their reaction will be. they are not open minded people and i am afraid that they won’t want me or my new family in their lives anymore. they are very concerned with “what other people think.”

if anyone has some non judgemental advice on how to tell them in a way that will ease their minds, or any scripture that i can share with them, to “soften the blow”, i would really appreciate it.

my child is an unexpected blessing and the possible situation with my parents is causing me a lot of distress.

thank you and God Bless.

There will be a lot of emotions, and maybe some harsh words if they are as you describe them. Time, though, tends to “heal all wounds.” So, even if you do receive criticism, harsh words, etc, try not to hold it against them and see if time softens things and brings them around to a better relationship. Remember, they aren’t perfect either!