Use of powerpoint/lyrics on the wall!

Hey, ya’ll, I’ve been officially assimilated into the South, where everybody says “ya’ll” :slight_smile: This is my first post, and I found this site because I had a liturgical question and was not sure where to find the answer!

I am a Catholic school music teacher, and I was asked today to start using powerpoint projections to put song lyrics on a screen during Mass, instead of using songsheets as we have been doing.

I recall talking about this in a previous position, and our pastoral staff decided against it – We did not want to look like all the other mega-churches that are going all-out contemporary, doing their best to erase any semblance of traditional worship from their services.

I don’t recall any particular text that would necessarily forbid it, though, in the liturgical documents, so I’m hoping ya’ll can lead me to what I should read, or where I can find a good source to give me some guidance, as this just doesn’t “feel” right to me. Thanks for any help!
Gwen

I personally do not think that doing this will add to the sacredness of the Mass, but just the opposite. It will make the Mass seem more like entertainment, and less like prayful worship.

I personally do not like the use of powerpoint, etc for lyrics. I see this in protestant “mega-churches” or other larger protestant churches and I have actually attended a church that my DH’s parents are members of that uses this, plus the minister got up and gave his sermon wearing shorts and a t-shirt. To me, it all took away from the service and I couldn’t concentrate. I guess for many protestant churches it may be ok but I don’t think it has a place during Mass.

It is forbidden at my parish, but I don’t know whether there is any official Church documentation that forbids it everywhere.

We used to have a projection screen in the Church, but it has been removed, so as to avoid the occasion of temptation.