Using Incense in a Eucharistic Procession

Hi there. Tomorrow, in celebration of Divine Mercy Sunday, my college community will have a eucharistic procession throughout the campus. As an acolyte, I’ll be directly in front of the monstrance holding the incense. In previous processions, I’ve seen this acolyte turn around from time to time to cense the monstrance. I’m wondering how often to turn around and do this, as well as how many times to “swing” the censer when doing so. Thanks for your answers!

John, I am no expert, and it has been a very long time since I have been in a procession, but when I used to attend all night vigils at a New York City church, the acolyte used to walk backwards and continually incense the Blessed Sacrament. Normally, if I recall, you would swing the censer three times.

No one is expecting you to walk backwards as this gentlemen did, but if you turned around every minute or so, I think that would be appropriate.

Hopefully, an expert here on this can help you more than I have. I think it is wonderful you are having that on Divine Mercy Sunday. :slight_smile:

I’d think, whenever you stop would be appropriate.

Many years ago, my fellow altar boys used to just carry the sensor around, without swinging it any further embellishments.

The smoke has been found to be toxic. I wonder if nowadays there is a warning label on the incense.

So, I’m not a big-cloud incense guy and never was. I saw Pope Francis incense an altar at this one Mass and I couldn’t even see the smoke of the burning incense. I could be wrong, but at least this one time he seemed to take a minimalist approach towards using it. Of course, he only has one lung to breath with. This may be the reason he goes incense-lite at Mass.