Vacation ideas please

This has been just the most exhausting school year, and I haven’t had a real vacation in years and years and years.

So I’m looking for ideas.

I’m 40 and pretty active. (Sometimes I’m actively pretty.) I have a 4 year old son who loves to jump and run and sing and finger paint and get dirty. We love the outdoors and my son needs things to DO, not just see (although dinosaurs bones and aquariums are a good afternoon attraction).

I would like a vacation that could include at least my mom, and perhaps the other grandparents, and maybe even some teenage cousins and an aunt and uncle. I don’t want the option of doing dishes, or laundry, or yardwork, or homework (though I may not be able to completely avoid that one).

I’m a teacher, so the vacation has to be in summer.

I was thinking about something totally pampering for me (and the other grown-ups) yet fun for my son. Cruises came to mind, but I don’t know which ones would be good for my son, and a Disney cruise is just way too expensive for this year.

So, ideas please?

Gertie

let the other relatives take your son and go to a resort by yourself?

not an option?