Vain hobbies and interests

Greetings!

I’ve been trying to grow closer to Christ for the last few months, and have been thinking of vanity (as in triviality, foolishness) of much that I do.

I have always been very much into hobbies, but I realize upon reflection that must of them do not bring me any spiritual reward, and only serve as a distraction from what is most important. My heart longs for perfection, but I fear that there is still an attachment to the world and its allures.

So, for example, I decided to drop interests which are clearly pointless, such as archery, or bushcraft, but I am not clear about other things.

For example, I have a degree in music, but at this moment I don’t see how I could use this for the service of our Lord, as I neither play the organ or sing. I could compose music in His glory, but I think my time would be better spent in prayer and study of His word. Yet, I don’t want to waste the knowledge that I have.

Or how about learning Latin? I want to learn it because it’s the language of the Church, and because it’s beautiful, but is this not a sort of self-interest? I don’t know, and I don’t have any clear guidelines.

I guess my question is: how do you decide where to prune and where not to prune? How do you distingish between a vain pursuit and a useful one?

There’s nothing wrong with recreation. In fact, it’s good and necessary. If you just do intensely spiritual things all the time you will burn out.

Music is a great gift, even if it’s not religious. Sports like archery and bushcraft are wholesome and good for your mind and body. If you’re neglecting duties because of them, okay, cut back. If you’re engaging in them purely in order to make others look inferior, okay, maybe avoid competitive sports, or better yet work on your pride. But they are not pointless if they refresh you, or help develop and maintain the mind and body God gave you. The Lord is glorified by this too.