As one who lives with this condition myself, I think the mother is just grandstanding. Her daughter is perfectly able to receive the Eucharist. What more can she want? (If she’s concerned about the alcohol, someone should tell her that, in the Byzantine rite, everyone - even tiny infants! - receives a few drops of the Precious Blood at Mass. )
The mother in Massachussetts took the cake, though…if you’ll pardon my pun. She was upset that her child (supposedly) wasn’t receiving the “whole” Eucharist…so she took her to a church that has no valid Eucharist at all! How much sense does that make? :rolleyes:
To answer the original question, the precise arrangements for celiac communicants vary from one place to another, depending on local medical opinion. In Europe, doctors think it’s fine for celiacs to use the low-gluten hosts. They’re made from specially processed wheat starch, which is considered “gluten-free” by European standards, and is used in a variety of commercial baked goods for celiacs.
In North America, medical authorities have taken a “zero tolerance” attitude, and don’t consider the special wheat starch to be “gluten-free”. Therefore, celiacs in the US and Canada are advised to receive from the chalice instead. This isn’t hard to do, since many parishes offer Communion under both species.
For those who are unwilling to risk the slight possibility of gluten contamination from the regular chalice, the priest can consecrate some wine in a separate vessel. Celiac parishioners can then receive Communion separately: before everyone else, or after everyone else, or off to one side. In my travels, I’ve visited several parishes that already have such procedures in place. Others will surely adopt them in the years to come, as gluten intolerance is becoming more widely diagnosed. (1 in 200 Americans has celiac disease, though most don’t know it yet.)