Vatican II Research Paper?

I’m a sophomore in college and during the next half of the semester, my American Religious History teacher asked us to write a 10-12 research paper on a religious happening that affected America (completely our choice). I’m Catholic (Professor is anti-Catholic), so I want to write about Vatican II. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to approach the paper?

Thanks!

Chloe M.

Start by reading the documents. There are four major documents called “dogmatic constitutions.” Focus on these first.

An excellent book which discusses the actual events of the council in light of each document is “A Concise Guide to the Documents of the Second Vatican Council” by Edward P. Hahnenberg.

bks3.books.google.com/books?id=pGanAAAACAAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&imgtk=AFLRE70Y9HmQ1RBnV56jxEFL22GiYgvPWoDosLfeL750muCUUKBsHO2v1cEXnscw9Bo3mJY2eUFvvq30zstS4wyekEsX8VWhXDvpDmpgbE5VQm_1LricrO8yAt9-8ECsicdD1BeP-UBi

A friend of mine was a theology student at Fordham University in New York City when the documents came out. She recalls people standing on the table in the student union reading the documents which were printed in the New York Times and recalls Walter Kronkite’s coverage on the CBS Evening News. I might be able to get you in touch with her if you want to interview someone. Send me a PM.

-Tim-

In addition to (and only after) the documents, I would recommend the book “The Rhine Flows in to the Tiber” by Fr. Ralph Wiltgen for what is widely considered one of the best, most objective accounts of the currents at work and the happenings around the council. Easy read… Another book recommendation is “The Desolate City: Revolution in the Catholic Church” by Anne Roche Muggeridge for conservative slant.

For a sociological study of changes in the American Catholic laity during and after Vatican II, I highly recommend The Catholic Revolution: New Wine, Old Wineskins, and the Second Vatican Council by Fr. Andrew Greeley.