Vatican State Financial Statements

Begging pardon from all of you, but I’m really not sure if this is the right place to place this thread. Mods please move it if it is inappropirate.

I’m an accountant by profession, and it gets my dander up whenever some lunatic starts accusing the Catholic Church of being so rich and powerful that it can easily distribute its wealth and feed everyone on earth for the rest of their lives. I know that most of the Church’s riches are in art treasures that cannot and should not be sold since they are humanity’s treasures and should be kept in safekeeping.

My question is, is there a site where we can download the financial statements of the Vatican, possibly the Church as an institution? It would then be easy to make comparisons to different countries’ incomes and scale this data for realistic debates rather than ones full of hyperbole by anti-Catholics with an agenda. We can show people like them that yes the Church is rich, but no richer than say, Taiwan or someplace.

Thanks for any help.

Anyone?

It’s very hard to answer this question. Every diocese of the Catholic Church whether eastern or western is a particular church. Thus, it is incorporated as a single entity. Likewise, parishes are also incorprated as single entities and the deed to the parish property is usually held “in trust” to the diocesan bishop or metropolitan bishop. What unites us is our Catholic Faith. Our belief in the ancient creeds, the 21 ecumenical councils etc. So, there are very poor dioceses and “rich” dioceses depending on your location. Each bishop is the head of his particular church.