veil and mantilla use

Hi everyone!
I have a question about using a chapel veil/mantilla: I know that the idea is to veil in the presence of the Lord in the Blessed Sacrament, so when I enter a church, I put on a mantilla. However, what about churches where the Tabernacle is in a side chapel, especially when there is a closed door between the tabernacle and the church? (Note: I’m not trying to start a debate about the appropriateness of such chapels. My question is how should I show my respect for the Eucharist in these churches)
Should I only put a head-covering on if I enter the chapel?
What about at Mass? Only right before the consecration?
Another related note: What about when Mass is celebrated some place where the Blessed Sacrament is not reserved? When should a person use a headcovering then?

I’m especially interested in what other ladies who use headcoverings do. (I’m relatively new to this practice, and I haven’t found any thoughts on these paticular problems:rolleyes:)

i didnt used to cover, only at EF mass. but now i love it enjoy being veiled and cover whenever i enter the church. im 25 btw. i cover every time i go in the church except at NO services where it would make me stand out to be the only veiled lady. but in those circumtances a hat is ok.

my advice to you is pray on this and go with your heart. i am young and never imagined i woudl feel the urge to be veiled in front of the Lord, since no-one i know does, only the pious old ladys in the front row of EF mass. but surely the Lord will give you the right answer.

Philomena, many years ago I belonged to a parish and had the same dilemma. I still wore my mantilla. If you want to be technical, I suppose you don’t have to, but I did because, even though I couldn’t see Our Lord, I knew He was still there in a side room and He could see me. Plus, after the Consecration of the Mass, He is there anyway.

Serious question about the veils and mantillas.