Veil Question

I’ve been attending the TLM for about 7 years now, and my wife has worn a veil since we were dating in college (after an excruciating amount of resistance, I might add). Anyway, I’m curious as to whether there is a “code” to the color of the veils. My wife wears an off-white (I’m a man, so my palette is limited, ladies) one, and I also see white-white, black, etc. Is one color for single vs. married ladies or is black just for widows? I saw something on another post that got me wondering.

What has been done traditionally is:
Black/dark for married ladies and white/light for unmarried ladies. However, it is completely appropriate to coordinate the color of one’s veil with one’s outfit.
Since it is now a private devotion, colors don’t matter.

Hope that helps!

I have a question, and its completely in reference to something from the Bible. Also, I’m a man, so it really doesn’t affect me anyway.

Much, or all, of Paul’s point in discoursing on women wearing headcoverings is to promote a humble and submissive character. The headcovering was intended to cover up the woman’s hair because her hair was very important to her.

Now, would trying to coordinate the veil and the outfit, in some way, be a glorification of the veil and/or outfit…therefore defeating the purpose of the veil, as prescribed by Paul?

Just lookin’ for another perspective on this.

I don’t think so. Rather, there would be coherancey to the outfit, perhaps making it stand out less.
Women did it back in the day, and many do it now.
My mother has a picture of herself, when she was a child, in her dark blue winter coat and wearing a dark blue veil. I have a picture of my grandmother in a black dress with a black veil.

I, personally, wear my black veil throughout the year, except for the Christmas and Easter seasons, and then I wear my cream one.

Ladies- your opinions?