Veiling in Church

Before the late 1960s when most Catholic women stopped veiling in church, was it considered a sin not to do so? Or, was it just something people should do? If it was a sin, was it a venial or a grave sin?

Thanks. :thumbsup:

From 1917 until 1983 it was canon law that women must cover their heads in a Catholic church.

Thanks.

Do you know what kind of sin it was?

We stopped covering our heads before 1983. I can’t remember when, exactly but as I recall that discipline was gone by the time I graduated from high school in 71.

While we covered our heads, few women ‘veiled’ in Canada and the US. Hats? Kerchiefs? Scarves? Berets? Crocheted caps? Yes, Veils? That didn’t really start until the mid 60s and it was seen as the easiest way to carry a head covering in your purse or pocket ‘just in case’.

It was a venial sin if done intentionally. It is listed in the New Testament as a requirement for women in Church, to show Respect for Our Lord, and has been a Custom since the First Century, an honor only for women. It is ‘required’ by Tridentine Mass which is essentially Council of Trent 1500’s requirement, as is Reception of the Eucharist on the Tongue only, silently, kneeling by all except handicapped.

Is there any chance of The Church bringing the veil back? I really love this tradition and all that it stands for. In a world where you can’t be proud to be simply female (unless you’re in a lesbian relationship) it’s a well needed breath of fresh air.

For us it was the mid 60s. We moved in 1968. At the old Church we covered; at the new Church we didn’t. :shrug:

As I said, it was still a requirement of canon law until 1983.

There is no reason for the Church *“to bring it back”. *
If you want to cover your head, you can do so,
all the Church said was that it is no longer required.

Right. … but the Church can still ‘bring it back’ just as the bishops in the UK are bringing ‘back’ year-round Friday abstinence.