Veiling

Hello Friends in Christ,

I’m looking for some advice on a problem I’ve encountered. I’m a Roman Catholic college student with a traditional lean. I attend a secular university but I’ve recently been elected to the Executive Board for our Catholic Community on campus. I’m very excited about the opportunity I have as the Vice President of Spirituality.

Although we celebrate a less than traditional Mass because we celebrate it at the Interfaith Chapel and we share the space with others, I wear a chapel veil during Mass. However, because of my recent election, our Campus Minister has requested that I remove the chapel veil if I am giving announcements at the end of Mass, as Executive Board members often do. She said she doesn’t want to interfere with my spirituality but she also doesn’t want others to feel that this is the required spirituality of the community. She said in the past she had to ask Eucharistic Ministers who preferred to kneel when receiving Communion to refrain from doing so when they were acting as Eucharistic Ministers because they received before the whole community.

What should I do? As I previously wrote, we are in the Interfaith Chapel, and therefore our tabernacle is in a separate Sanctuary, so I think it might be possible that the Blessed Sacrament has been removed by the time the announcements are given. She’s not asking me not to wear it at all, and it is pleasing to our Lord when we humbly submit to our superiors despite our own will. I veil whether I’m alone in Adoration or being a cantor at Mass, not because of anyone’s presence except our Lord’s.Overall I just want to show love and reverence for Our Lord and would appreciate any advice on how to proceed.

Blessings!

Are you the only one that veils? If your the only one or a few others do, what is the worry.