Violence and Video Games

Hello all,

My name is Matt, and I’m an aspiring college student majoring in Computer Science. I originally chose my major because I wanted to work on video games. I felt I was a creative person who could work with ‘modern-day storytelling.’ (That’s what I like to call it)

However, I’ve also wanted to lead a morally good life. I wouldn’t want to do condone any game that is morally questionable (Rockstar Games - the maker of Grand Theft Auto - is obviously not on my hot list of employers).

I recently found that the pope had something to say about video games. Here is a memorable quote: “Any trend to produce programs and products – including animated films and video games – which in the name of entertainment exalt violence and portray anti-social behavior or the trivialization of human sexuality is a perversion, all the more repulsive when these programs are directed at children and adolescents.”

It seems that violence is the top “priority” in making a game, with sexuality coming in a close second. Developers are becoming more and more permissive in the content they put in games. Go figure - games with it tend to do better than games without it. People are attracted by the racy subject matter. As demands and sales go up, more of these questionable products are made. Some people who play these eventually learn to develop them! This has become a vicious cycle. As the cycle continues, people are effected by the subject matter - spiritually and psychologically, and morality seems to become a distant, abstract concept.