Visiting Convents to Discern Vocation

Hello,
I am a freshman in college discerning the call to become a nun. By 'discerning,' I mean that God has called me and I am going to be a nun unless his plan for me changes before I graduate. My question is: Does anybody have advice on visiting convents? The trouble I am running into is that I feel called to the cloister, but you cannot just visit a cloister. They are very particular about who visits, and usually it must be because you are genuinely discerning joining that specific order. I would like to visit the Carmelites, but I am not yet sure about whether I feel called to their order. Is there any chance they will let me visit, knowing I am not planning on entering? I am just trying to discern where I am supposed to be, and can't know something is my vocation if I haven't even tried it!

Thanks!

Of course they will let you visit! How are you supposed to know you're called somewhere if you've never been there? You don't have to be committed to entering to visit.

Most communities will have a guest room separate from the cloister for those who wish to visit. I have done this with the community I hope to enter, I stayed in their retreat house and went to the abbey church for Mass and some of the Divine Office and they arranged for me to meet with the novice mistress so I could discuss with her my vocation and learn more about their community. If I wish to continue discerning with their community, I can then go on what is called a live-in, where I would be allowed inside the cloister to spend a few weeks living their lifestyle.

If there is a Carmelite community near you, contact them and say you are discerning a religious vocation, are interested in their spirituality and would like to visit and find out more.

Please visit my site: cloisters.tripod.com/

We will keep you in prayer.

Blessings,
Cloisters

[quote="PerfectTiming, post:2, topic:273808"]