Vocations Posters - Relax!

I see a lot of people posting here and making threads that are filled with anxiety and worry. I myself was that very person a few months ago. Sometimes people are worried, upset or confused. While these are normal emotions - they are also emotions that are unnecessary and cloud ones judgement.

Remember that the Lord will never call you to anything that will make you unhappy or empty. He will never call you to something that leaves you distraught or anxious. While it may be true that accepting a vocation (religious, priesthood, marriage, single) takes courage and there might be some fear that needs overcoming, generally this is all part of the process.

While I have no experience I suppose either way in making a decision, I believe that one needs to sincerely humble oneself and let go - and let the Lord in. This is probably what causes the most anxiety on these boards. Most threads just say in a round about way “I am afraid to say “yes” to the Lord” and people mistake that for a vocation.

Remember that before you take the big step, you must take the small one. However, paradoxically, the bigger step I believe is this “Yes”. It is the complete submission to God’s will that takes a lot of courage. But I think you’ll find, and people have found, that this step, once taken, leads to complete tranquillity and being in a sense at peace with ones current situation. Why? Well, because He will never lead you the wrong way. If each day you live with a “Yes” how can you go wrong? What is there to worry about? If you are able to trust Him for a second, a minute, an hour, a day then you can learn to trust Him for a lifetime.

So my message to all of you considering posting is relax. When you think about posting - take a deep look inside and ask yourself a few questions. Sometimes we are afraid of the leap that exists miles away without concentrating on the one that is right in front of us.