Wanting your opinions and ideas?

Just wanted everyones opinions on some good catholic books to read, I am wanting to learn as much as I can about the religion, i just got done reading the dummies series book, very informative, but not that in depth, would also like some fiction books that are a good catholic read, and any books that you wouldn't want to be without, that have inspired you to live a true catholic life, other than the catechism and the bible.

Congrats on seeking to learn more about your faith! :slight_smile:

There are many, many good books out there. I will take the “shotgun” approach and give you many possibilities to choose from. :slight_smile:

[LIST]
*]Any book by Cardinal Ratzinger / Pope Benedict XVI. In particular, I would recommend Jesus of Nazareth.
*]Any book by Peter Kreeft. He’s a philosopher by trade, so his books are very clear, well-reasoned works of apologetics. His Handbook of Apologetics is a must have.
*]Any book by Scott Hahn. He’s a convert and Biblical Scholar, but his books are very readable. The Lamb’s Supper is at the top of many Catholic’s favorite books list. My personal favorite is his High School textbook Understanding the Scriptures. It’s a great intro to Scripture.
*]Story of a Soul by St. Therese of Lisieux
*]Confessions by St. Augustine
*]Any other book by a Saint is probably good :wink:
[/LIST]

For Catholic fiction, I very much enjoy Michael D. O’Brien’s books (published by Ignatius Press). Some people really like booksBud Macfarlane, Jr.'s. I think they’re a bit on the pulp fiction side of things in terms of artistic merit, but they were an enjoyable read nonetheless. Flannery O’Connor is a well respected Catholic author in even the secular realm, but her short stories are definitely quirky (to put it mildly). I’ve heard good things about Walker Percy, too, but I’ve never actually read his works.