Was I absolved of this?

Today I went to Confession, and I think I remembered something but I either didn't mention it because I was embarrassed or because the priest was talking. If the former, I would have confessed it after a moment of hesitation, as I've done before (I hesitated, realized I had to say it, and did), but I forgot about it. I must have because I didn't even think of it until I got home. I'm still new to this and the gravity of withholding something didn't come to mind until I was at home, either. I'm not sure what to do. I know that tomorrow I'll try to confess to one of the priests after Mass, but I wish I could now. Problem is local priests are never available. If I called my parish priest (I know his number), he'd just tell me it had to wait and I shouldn't worry so much.

I'm not even sure it was mortal because as I was thinking it (it was about the attractiveness of Buddhism as I watched a movie) I realized and tried to fight it but I forget if I did or not, or gave up. I know I mentioned blasphemous thoughts as something I had done but I wasn't thinking of this instance, and what I had thought was more just an automatic kind of thing that I stopped.

When he absolved me, was that sin wiped away as well? I'll mention it in any case but I'm wondering if it is technically absolved, or if it won't be til I confess it again?

I'm not sure that you've even sinned--being attracted to Buddhism isn't exactly a sin, because it doesn't sound like much of an act of the will is involved, and even if you were willfully seeking to learn about Buddhism (or any other religion), that's not sinful of itself either--how else do Catholic theologians study what other religions believe? It sounds like you are probably suffering from scrupulosity, and you should speak to your confessor about that. You're in my prayers.

-ACEGC

[quote="edward_george, post:2, topic:316108"]