Was stepping on an image of a Saint a mortal sin?

Ok I definitely think I’m being too scrupulous about this, and I’m pretty sure it wasn’t a mortal sin but I get a lot of relief when other Catholics can agree that something I’m having scruples about wasn’t a mortal sin, which is why I’m asking for other opinions.

I’m a college student and remember my Christian morality professor saying one day that as Catholics if someone points a gun to our heads and tells us to step on or trample on an image of Jesus we have an obligation to not do that because that would be sinful.

Well this morning I was trying to reach a box in my house and in order to position myself to get the box within reach I stepped on a book that was laying on the floor that has a picture of St. Francis on the front, I noticed this and looked down at my foot but figured I would just get the box and then shift my footing position. But now my scrupulous side is telling me that I knowingly left my foot on the book and therefore stepped on an image of St. Francis, now I can’t stop having the thought that I have disrespected St. Francis and God in a mortally sinful way.

Of course my common sense self keeps telling me that I’m not in mortal sin cause I didn;t even know for sure if it was grave matter, I wasn’t intending to offend God or St. Francis, and that it just seems absurd that I’m now in a state of mortal sin when I didn’t do anything that would seem like a mortal sin to the average Catholic. Unfortunately though my brain keeps thinking back to what my professor said and I’m having trouble with that.

Thoughts?

Thanks and God Bless!

I hope that you are working with your priest/confessor on your scrupulosity. If not controlled, it can become the sin.

Scrupulosity itself is not sinful, but it certainly damaging to the spiritual life.