Was the Virgin Mary really perfect?

I have been studying for a while now, (I’m new to the faith) and I cant find anywhere in the Bible where it says that Mary was perfect. Why does the Church teach it, and where do they get their reasoning for that belief. I’ve heard people say its because Jesus was perfect which kinda makes sense, but why did it have to be that way? God has infinite power, couldnt it be simply be that Jesus was perfect and that’s that? Why does the Virgin Mary have to be perfect? I’m not saying I’m ruling it out or anything, I’m just trying to understand why the Church believes it. Also, where do they get that she was assumed into heaven? Do you have to believe all this to be a member of the Catholic Church? Thank you in advance for you answers.

God bless.

Unfortunately, you do have to believe in the Immaculate Conception and the Assumption of Mary if you want to be a Catholic. These two doctrines were each pronounced ex cathedra,or, more simply, infallible.

The two doctrines have been passed down to the Church, through the Magisterium. These two doctrines were also only defined infallibly because they were beginning to be questioned by the differing Protestant denominations. I will post the scriptural basis behind each of these doctrines. But in the mean time, take a look at this link from the Catholic Answers website.

catholic.com/library/Immaculate_Conception_and_Assum.asp

If you are having doubts after reading this link, I recommend that you pick up the Cathecism of the Catholic Church, or contact your priest. These two doctrines are important and required for belief as a Catholic. Take care.

Dominus vobiscum

Part of the difficulty is that Catholics are not “bible only”. We recognize that sacred oral tradition handed down from the apostles is as authoritative as the written word.